Big news!

Final Fantasy 16 Officially Revealed By Sony

Revealed during tonight’s (September 16) State of Play Sony showcase, the world was treated to a first look at Final Fantasy 16, a PlayStation console exclusive.

Check out the trailer below!

YouTube video

The official video description reads: ““The legacy of the crystals has shaped our history for long enough…” Watch the exciting teaser trailer for the newest title in the legendary FINAL FANTASY series. FINAL FANTASY XVI is the next all-new standalone single player action RPG from Square Enix, coming to PlayStation 5.”

There’s no release window as of yet.

We already know a number of the games coming in the first year or two of the next Sony console, but rumour says Sony is still holding back when it comes to its bigger reveals. So far, titles including Horizon Forbidden West and Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales – as well as a new Ratchet and Clank game – have been confirmed to be headed straight to PS5.

Just a few of the confirmed PS5 games we’re most excited for also include Demon’s Souls, Godfall, Returnal, Gran Turismo 7 and Project Athia. All in all, we’re ready for another unbelievable generation of console gaming thanks to Sony and PlayStation!

Credit: Twitter: OBlackThunderO

In case you missed it, the official Sony PlayStation 5 specs are as follows (note, this is for the main PS5 and not the disc-less version):

CPU8x Zen 2 Cores at 3.5GHz (variable frequency)
GPU10.28 TFLOPs, 36 CUs at 2.23GHz (variable frequency)
GPU ArchitectureCustom RDNA 2
Memory/Interface16GB GDDR6/256-bit
Memory Bandwidth448GB/s
Internal StorageCustom 825GB SSD
IO Throughput5.5GB/s (Raw), Typical 8-9GB/s (Compressed)
Expandable StorageNVMe SSD Slot
External StorageUSB HDD Support
Optical Drive4K UHD Blu-ray Drive

To compare Sony and Microsoft’s next-gen offerings, both Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S are due to launch 10 November 2020. The Series X will retail for $499 USD, or £449 GBP. The Series S will retail for $299 USD, or £249 GBP.

YouTube video

Featured Image Credit: Square Enix