The Game Awards 2019 Crowns Its Game Of The Year

Well, the last The Game Awards of the decade is done and dusted, and the winner of the elusive Game of the Year award has been crowned.

The nominations for what’s often considered to be one of the most important awards in the video game industry were as follows:

Credit: The Game Awards

Control (Remedy/505 Games)

Death Stranding (Kojima Productions)

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Nintendo)

Resident Evil 2 Remake (Capcom)

Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice (From Software/Activision)

The Outer Worlds (Obsidian/Private Division)

Credit: The Game Awards

Perhaps surprisingly, the Game of the Year 2019 award went to none other than FromSoftware’s Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice.

The game’s official description reads as follows: “Enter a dark and brutal new gameplay experience from the creators of Bloodborne and the Dark Souls series.

“Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an intense, third-person action-adventure set against the bloody backdrop of 14th-century Japan.  Step into the role of a disgraced warrior brought back from the brink of death whose mission is to rescue his master and exact revenge on his arch nemesis.

Credit: FromSoftware

“Exploring a vast interconnected world, you’ll come face-to-face with larger than life foes and gruelling one-on-one duels. Unleash an arsenal of deadly prosthetic weapons and powerful ninja abilities to bring down your adversaries and combine steal and verticality to deal death from the shadows.”

Congratulations to all the developers, writers, publishers and talented creators for giving us such amazing games, year after year!

Last year, the award went to PlayStation 4 exclusive, God of War (2018).

Did you know we’ve opened up a new store?  and make sure to sign up for our newsletter so you never miss out on deals, exclusives and more!

Featured Image Credit: The Game Awards