News

Changing your PSN Name might have Concerning Consequences

uh oh…

3K

Sony finally confirmed that you can change your PSN name after years of having to keep the same cringey name you picked when you were 12 years old. However this might come with somewhat of a catch.

When the feature was announced earlier this month Sony did mention that there may be some issues with name changing feature. Along with the potential bugs and glitches that this might cause it may also cause even greater loss to peoples back catalog of games.

Video you'll love from around the web


The Beta has been rolled out to UK PSN users but be warned, changing your name could mean that you lose access to paid DLC and other add-ons that you bought with your precious alias. Many games also might not work all together with the name change that you have picked.

Imagine that you have all these Platinum trophies that you have been grinding for years to get to only changed your name and then have (potentially) all of them taken away from you.

Here is the overview of the changing name Beta in full so you can check for yourself if you want to put your PlayStation’s saved data on the line:

As part of the System Software 6.10 preview, we are rolling out the upcoming Change Online ID system feature. As a preview user you will be able to change your Online ID using the new system tools.To use this feature please ensure you have a clear understanding of the implications of changing your Online ID and the software’s restrictions – described in the following sections – before software installation. If you are unsure, do not download and install the Preview Programme software.

Important Information Before Changing your Online ID:

Not all games and applications for PS4, PS3, PS Vita, and other PlayStation systems support the Online ID change feature. If you change your Online ID:

• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.

• You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.

• Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.

• Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.

Change Online ID Restrictions During Preview:

The changes during the preview will adhere to the following structure:

• First change is free for all users.

• Second change will be charged at €9.99 / £7.99 (PlayStation®Plus subscribers receive a 50% discount).

• If your previous Online ID violates any of the current Terms of Service, you will not be able to revert back to your previous Online ID.

• You can revert to your previous Online ID once per account during the preview period.

• Sub-Accounts cannot utilise the Change Online ID feature.

• After you change your Online ID, it may take a few hours for some services and applications to reflect the new ID.

If for any reason you have issues after changing your Online ID you can revert back to your previous ID at no charge. However:

• you may only do this once during the preview period;

• changing back to your previous Online ID may not fix all issues (you may not recover all or any lost content, progress and functionality; and

• if you want to change back, do so as soon as possible because changing back to your previous Online ID may affect content, game progress and functionality associated with your new Online ID.

If you are a bit wary of putting your data at risk then don’t worry, this is just the beta after all. Hopefully in a couple of months Sony will have ironed out all of the bugs, glitches and kinks that the beta has so we can all change our names without worry. Sony will need people to test this for them though – just make sure you don’t mind losing any of your progress.

Will you be using the new beta or will you wait for proper release to change your name?

Send this to a friend